Sunday, May 28, 2006

Delhi School of Economics

Most DU colleges dont have an MA degree of their own, actually no college has one. So even if we enrol in these colleges, all the lectures will be in the DSE. These are the colleges under DU. DSE is given top priority by students and the remaining can get themselves enrolled in other colleges.
Admission Rules and Procedures (for admission to M.A Economics, 2006-2007)
Students seeking admission to M.A Economics at the University of Delhi are required to first register themselves with the Department of Economics at the Delhi School of Economics, for appearing in the Entrance Examination. After being selected for the M.A. Economics Course, students may enroll themselves either in the Department of Economics at the Delhi School of Economics or in any of the colleges of the University of Delhi listed below:
Deshbandhu College
Hindu College
Indraprastha College*
Janaki Devi Mahavidyalaya*
Kirori Mal College
Lady Shri Ram College*
Miranda House*
Ramjas College
Shri Ram College of Commerce
St. Stephen’s College
Zakir Hussain College
Colleges marked * are for women students only.
Note that all lectures are delivered in the Department of Economics, Delhi School of Economics.

This can be read from the DSE hand book. So it does not matter which college you are admitted in.

NOTICE: This blog is not active anymore. Kindly visit MA Economics page at 

Wednesday, May 24, 2006

Nobel Laureates in Economics

It is important that, we, as students of Economics have an idea about the Nobel Prize winners in Economic Sciences. The following economists have been awarded the prize in each year:

2005 Thomas Schelling 1921- American

Robert J. Aumann 1930- Israeli and American

2004 Edward C. Prescott 1940- American

Finn E. Kydland 1943- Norwegian

2003 Clive W.J. Granger 1934- British

Robert F. Engle 1942- American

2002 Vernon L. Smith 1927- American

Daniel Kahneman 1934- Israeli

2001 George A. Akerlof 1940- American

A. Michael Spence 1943- American

Joseph E. Stiglitz 1943- American

2000 James J. Heckman 1944- American

Daniel L. McFadden 1937- American

1999 Robert A. Mundell 1932- Canadian

1998 Amartya Sen 1933- Indian

1997 Robert C. Merton 1944- American

Myron S. Scholes 1941- American

1996 James A. Mirrlees 1936- British

William S. Vickrey 1914-1996 American

1995 Robert E. Lucas, Jr. 1937- American

1994 John C. Harsanyi 1920-2000 American (born Hungary)

John F. Nash 1928- American

Reinhard Selten 1930- German

1993 Robert W. Fogel 1926- American

Douglass C. North 1920- American

1992 Gary S. Becker 1930- American

1991 Ronald H. Coase 1910- American (British-born)

1990 Harry M. Markowitz 1927- American

Merton H. Miller 1923-2000 American

William F. Sharpe 1938- American

1989 Trygve Haavelmo 1911-1999 Norwegian

1988 Maurice Allais 1912- French

1987 Robert M. Solow 1924- American

1986 James M. Buchanan, Jr. 1919- American

1985 Franco Modigliani 1918-2003 American (born Italy)

1984 Sir Richard Stone 1913-1991 British

1983 Gerard Debreu 1921- American (born France)

1982 George J. Stigler 1911-1991 American

1981 James Tobin 1918-2002 American

1980 Lawrence R. Klein 1920- American

1979 Theodore W. Schultz 1902- American

Sir Arthur Lewis 1915-1991 West Indian

1978 Herbert A. Simon 1916-2001 American

1977 James E. Meade 1907-1995 British

Bertil Ohlin 1899-1979 Swedish

1976 Milton Friedman 1912- American

1975 Leonid V. Kantorovich 1912-1986 Russian

Tjalling C. Koopmans 1910-1985 American (born Netherlands)

1974 Gunnar Myrdal 1898-1987 Swedish

Friedrich A. von Hayek 1899-1992 British (born Austria)

1973 Wassily Leontief 1906-1999 American (Russian-born)

1972 Kenneth J. Arrow 1921- American

John R. Hicks 1904-1989 British

1971 Simon Kuznets 1901-1985 American (Russian-born)

1970 Paul A. Samuelson 1915- American

1969 Ragnar Frisch 1895-1973 Norwegian

Jan Tinbergen 1903-1994 Dutch

Monday, May 22, 2006

DSE Entrance- Option B

Since so many of the students were asking about the entrance to DSE, i thought i will give some useful information regarding the tests, as the test in during the last week of june. This site gives the details.
The test can be taken up by economics students or non economic students who have taken up mathematics or statistics. Because i have a copy of the paper, i thought i will pen down the various topics covered in option B of the test.

The 2003 paper included
Euclidean matric-convergence
Vectors-linear dependence
Matrices-idempotent, symmetric
Joint density function- marginal pdf, interpretation
Hypothesis testing
Maximum likelihod ratio estimate

I did my undergraduation in Economics so i dont understand much of math, i have written what i felt was important. Hope it proves helpful to those who are taking up the test.

Wednesday, May 10, 2006

Language constraint

I have always wondered why the so called 'trickle down effect' seems to have a very small effect or actually no effect at all in India.
I understand that for all development process, it is essential that the needs be communicated from the have-nots to the government but this communication is not taking place mainly due to what i call the Language Constraint.
What is this language constraint? India is a nation comprising diverse languages and cultures. This diversity seems to have a negative impact on the economic growth and development. It is only during the 1990's , due to Globalizaton that people understood the need for English-the language of the world economy! But after this, the orignal language of the masses tend not to be learnt; as the populace feels, it does not help them in their future. This language has divided and subdivided the Indian Economy into many bits and pieces which otherwise could have been a boon for the economy as a whole and it could have enjoyed the economies of scale.
For example, the US has got Hollywood but India has Bollywood, Kollywood and so on and so forth. This is a strain on the resources.
I am looking for more literature on Income Inequalities and other inequalities. Will write more on it once i get more ideas.